Home    All News Topics    All Federal Legislation News


Check your water earmarks

The House Appropriations Committee has compiled its nationwide list of earmarks included in the $410 billion omnibus bill. The measure passed the House Feb. 25 and was sent to the Senate. Earmarks order federal agencies to spend money on specific projects. The special appropriations are put in the spending bill by individual members of Congress. About two years ago, when Democrats won control of the House, the Appropriations Committee began publishing online the full list of earmarks requested by House members.

Senate earmarks are included in the bill, but they aren't separately published online with the name of the Senator who requested the spending.

Most of the drinking water and wastewater earmarks are included in the sections on Energy and Water Development or Interior and Environment. Some others may be found in the Agriculture section and it is possible there are water-related earmarks in some other areas.

Download a pdf file of the 2009 House Energy and Water Development earmarks.

Download a pdf file of the 2009 House Interior and Environment earmarks.

Download a pdf file of the 2009 House Agriculture earmarks.


Source: House Appropriations Committee

Departments and Agencies included in the House spending earmarks pdfs:

House Energy and Water House Interior and Environment House Agriculture

Department of Energy

Department of the Interior

  (Except Bureau of

  Reclamation and Central

  Utah Project)

Department of Agriculture (Except Forest Service)

Department of Defense-Civil;

  Department of the Army;

  Corps of Engineers-Civil

Advisory Council on

  Historic Preservation

Farm Credit Administration

Department of the Interior;

  Bureau of Reclamation;

  Central Utah Project

Agency for Toxic

  Substances and Disease

  Registry (HHS)

Farm Credit System Financial Assistance Corporation

Appalachian Regional


Chemical Safety and

  Hazard Investigation Board

Commodity Futures Trading Commission

Defense Nuclear Facilities

  Safety Board

Commission of Fine Arts Food and Drug Administration (HHS)
Delta Regional Authority

Council on Environmental

  Quality and Office

  of Environmental Quality

Denali Commission

Forest Service (USDA)


Nuclear Regulatory


Indian Health Service  

Nuclear Waste Technical

  Review Board

Institute of American

  Indian and Alaska Native

  Culture and Arts



Tennessee Valley Authority

John F. Kennedy Center

  for the Performing Arts


National Capital Planning



National Foundation on the

  Arts and the Humanities

  (Except Institute of

  Museum and Library


  National Gallery of Art  

National Institute of

  Environmental Health

  Sciences (HHS, formerly



Office of Navajo and

  Hopi Indian Relocation

  Presidio Trust  
  Smithsonian Institution  

United States Holocaust

  Memorial Museum


Eisenhower Memorial



Woodrow Wilson

  International Center for




2011 All rights reserved. Acceptable Use Policy | Privacy Statement Policy