EPA Program Announcement and List of Award Winners


National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards; Presentation of

Awards at the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and

Conference (WEFTEC), and Announcement of 2003 National Awards Winners.




SUMMARY: The Environmental Protection Agency will recognize

municipalities and industries for outstanding and innovative

technological achievements in wastewater treatment and pollution abatement programs at the annual National Clean Water Act Recognition

Awards Ceremony.

An inscribed plaque will be presented at the Ceremony during the Water Environment Federation's Technical Exposition and

Conference (WEFTEC) in Los Angeles, California. We are recognizing projects and programs for excellence in five awards categories

including operations and maintenance at wastewater treatment facilities, biosolids management, pretreatment, storm water management,

and combined sewer overflow controls.

This action also announces the

2003 national awards winners.


DATES: Monday, October 13, 2003, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.


ADDRESSES: The national awards presentation ceremony will be held at

the Los Angeles Convention Center, 1201 S. Figueroa Street, Los

Angeles, California.


FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Maria E. Campbell, Telephone: (202)

564-0628. Facsimile Number: (202) 501-2396, or e-mail:


SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The National Clean Water Act Recognition

Awards program is authorized under Clean Water Act section 501 (a) and

(e), 33 U.S.C. 1361(a) and (e). The awards program provides national

recognition and heightens overall public awareness of programs

developed to protect the public's health and safety and the nation's

water quality. A regulation at 40 CFR part 105 establishes a framework

for the annual recognition awards program. EPA announced the

availability of application and nomination information for this year's

awards (68 FR 11858, March 12, 2003). State water pollution control

agencies and EPA regional offices make recommendations to headquarters

for the national awards. Programs being recognized are in compliance

with applicable water quality requirements and have a satisfactory

record with respect to environmental quality. Recognition is made for

their demonstrated achievements in the awards program categories as


    (1) Excellent operations and maintenance practices at wastewater

treatment facilities;

    (2) Biosolids management through operating projects, and special

biosolids management achievements;

    (3) Municipal implementation and enforcement of local pretreatment


    (4) Storm Water Management excellence; and

    (5) Combined Sewer Overflow Control programs. The EPA's 2003

National Clean Water Act Recognition Awards winners are listed below by




              Operations and Maintenance Excellence Awards


First Place:

South Cobb Water Reclamation     Large Advanced Plant.

  Facility, Mableton, Georgia.

Kalispell Advanced Wastewater    Medium Advanced Plant.

  Treatment Plant, Kalispell,


Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe    Small Advanced Plant.

  Wastewater Treatment Plant,

  Isabella Reservation, Mount

  Pleasant, Michigan.

Buckman Wastewater Treatment     Large Secondary Plant--tie.

  Facility, Jacksonville

  Electric Authority

  Jacksonville, Florida.

Central Contra Costa Sanitary    Large Secondary Plant--tie.

  District, Martinez,


Logan Township Municipal         Medium Secondary Plant.

  Utilities Authority,

  Bridgeport, New Jersey.

Antrim Wastewater Treatment      Small Secondary Plant.

  Facility, Antrim, New


Eielson Air Force Base            Large Non-discharging Plant.

  Wastewater Treatment

  Facility, Eielson Air Force

  Base, Alaska.

Etowah Water and Sewer           Small Non-discharging Plant.

  Authority, Dawsonville,


Lisbon Wastewater Treatment      Most Improved Plant.

  Facility, Lisbon, New


Second Place:

Rockaway Valley Regional         Large Advanced Plant.

  Sewerage Authority, Boonton,

  New Jersey.

New Canaan Water Pollution       Medium Advanced Plant.

  Control Facility, New Canaan,


Village of Johnson Wastewater    Small Advanced Plant.

  Treatment Facility, Johnson,


Atlantic County Utilities        Large Secondary Plant.

  Authority, Atlantic City, New


South Kingstown Regional         Medium Secondary Plant.

  Wastewater Treatment

  Facility, Narragansett, Rhode


Town on Pine Bluffs Sewer,       Small Secondary Plant.

  Pine Bluffs, Wyoming.

St. Joe-Spencerville Regional    Most Improved Plant.

  Sewer District, Saint Joe,



                 Biosolids Management Excellence Awards


First Place:

Littleton/Englewood Wastewater   Large Operating Projects.

  Treatment Facility,

  Englewood, Colorado.

Second Place:

City of Twin Falls Wastewater    Large Operating Projects.

  Treatment Facility, Twin

  Falls, Idaho.

Special Recognition:

City of Los Angeles Department

  of Public Works, Bureau of

  Sanitation and Engineering &

  the Exceptional Quality

  Biosolids Task Force, Los

  Angeles, California


                 Pretreatment Program Excellence Awards


First Place:

South Adams County Water and     0-25 SIUs.

  Sanitation District, Commerce

  City, Colorado.

Metro Wastewater Reclamation     26-100 SIUs.

  District, Denver, Colorado.

Passaic Valley Sewerage          Greater than 100 SIUs.

  Commissioners Industrial and

  Pollution Control Department,

  Newark, New Jersey.

Second Place:

Sunnyvale Water Pollution        26-100 SIUs.

  Control Plant, Sunnyvale,


King County Department of        Greater than 100 SIUs.

  Natural Resources and Parks,

  Wastewater Treatment

  Division, Seattle, Washington.


                Storm Water Management Excellence Awards


First Place:

Ventura County Watershed         Municipal.

  Protection Division, Ventura

  County, California.

UTC Fuel Cells, South Windsor,   Industrial.


Second Place:

San Antonio Water System Storm   Municipal.

  Water Program, San Antonio,



              Combined Sewer Overflow (CSO) Control Awards


First Place:

City of Bangor, Maine.........   Municipal.

Second Place:

Philadelphia Water Department,   Municipal.

  Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


More News


EPA Oct. Awards
2011 All rights reserved. Acceptable Use Policy | Privacy Statement Policy